Tags

It’s been quiet here lately, but that is going to change. Now that I am settled into a new abode I am re-settling back into my writing. I took two weeks off from my SF Signal column but I am back to it, and also getting back to other writing, including several reviews and my current fiction projects.
Carrie Cuinn tagged me and several other writers to answer a blog questionnaire about a fiction project you’re working on. It seems like just the thing to get me back on track so here it is:

  1. What is the title of your novella*? “No Fealty But To The Wind And Sun.”
  2. Where did the idea come from for the novella? It’s partly a continuation of a story that I sold to Beneath Ceaseless Skies recently, and features a few characters from that tale. It was further stimulated by discussions I had about the prevalence of monarchies in epic/heroic/high fantasy and the potential in writing something in a different socio-political vein. The idea is to explore a clash of beliefs about how the world works and how humans should work together to live.
  3. What genre does your book fall under? Secondary-world fantasy is closest.
  4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? I rarely think in those terms when creating characters, but after a little poking around I have a few ideas. Adriana Barraza would make a good Irzin, the pathmaker of the expedition. She is a little older than Irzin is in the story but has the grit and poise. Taís Araújo, a Brazilian actress, for her daughter Sarqa and Rosario Dawson for Aniuni. I can’t think of actors for old Chanisuwa or the teen Rwik. Kes is the hardest because so much of the character, from sexuality to loyalties, is a cypher.
  5. What is a one-sentence synopsis of the novella? Small group of anarcho-communalists travels to the capital of a strange kingdom to tell the kings off.
  6. Will your novella be self-published or represented by an agency? No plans for either at this point.
  7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript? I wrote the draft for the Clarion West Write-a-thon, so it took forty-two days.
  8. What other fiction would you compare this story to in your genre? In terms of doing something different with setting, maybe N. K. Jemisin’s Inheritance Trilogy. If it turns out the way I want it to there’s not much else like it out there.
  9. Who or what inspired you to write this novella? I was inspired by some discussions with friends and readers of my SF Signal column who wrote that they wished there were more offerings in fantasy that permutations of kingships.
  10. What else about your novella might pique the reader’s interest? It’s not the usual fare. My goal is to tell a story about people doing something bold, but something unlike the usual quest or pilgrimage story you see in fantasy. It is a story of culture clash and fighting complacency, of the ways people choose to live and what they allow to have power over them.
