I am a bit late from the starting line, but my Clarion West Write-a-thon Page is up and I have begun my project, which is the first draft of a 30,000 word novella with the working title “No Fealty But To The Wind And Sun,” a fantasy which picks up after a story that I sent out several weeks ago. Last year I posted as I wrote, but that seriously slowed my pace, so this year I am going to write mostly out of view and just post word counts. The sole exception to this rule will be when someone donates to my page, at which point I will post a brief vignette from the story (which may end up as backstory, or may be included in the novella) with the donor as a character (most likely, someone the main characters meet on the journey they are undertaking). And when I finish the novella and get it published I will dedicate it to my donors.

Here is the first paragraph:

The third ambush they suffered was the most irritating because it actually succeeded in surprising them. Afterwards Chanisuwa blamed Kes, as was his wont, for not providing sufficient warrant against such events. Kes stared at the big ebony feather that was always at hand and twirled it, head shaking, until Irzin clucked her thick tongue at the accuser. “Are any of us dead? Hurt? Have we lost any provender? Don’t blame the Kes; blame the birds. They seem less honest here than at home.”

I am about 650 words in, but I plan to catch up over the next week. I need to write a bit ahead since I doubt I will have much time to write during Readercon, which happens towards the end of the Write-a-thon period. I should be able to share my final schedule for that event in a few days. What I can say now is that I am quite pleased with my schedule and I think this is going to be a great con.

Back to writing!

