Tags

, ,

1) As a warming-up exercise earlier today I wrote a silly satire of a song, based on one my personal favorites, “Always Look on the Bright Side of Life:”

Here are my altered lyrics:

Some things in life are sad
They can never make you glad
Other things just make you bleet and worse.
When you’re chewing on life’s conundrum
Sample instead its literary laudanum!
And this’ll help things turn out for the supernal…

And…always look on the weird side of life…
Always look on the feared side of life…

If life seems jolly nonsense
Then it’s time to ditch commonsense
And let the dreadful ecstasy trickle in.
When you’re feeling reality’s burden,
Give yourself a guerdon!
Just squint your eyes and read peculiar tales!

And…always look on the weird side of life…
Always look on the feared side of life…

For life is quite bizarre
And death takes it too far
You must never let the normal rein it in
Forget about your wits – read until you’re having fits!
Enjoy it – it’s a chance for reverie!.

So always look on the weird side of life
Before mundanity causes you termnal strife

Life’s a whorl of strange
It can subtly derange
Life’s a madhouse, death’s the CURE, it’s true.
You’ll see it’s all a ruse
Let the aberrancies amuse
Just remember that vital marvels live through you

And always look on the weird side of life…
Always look on the feared side of life…
(Come on guys, weird up!)
Always look on the weird side of life…
Always look on the veered side of life…
(Worse things than being odd, you know.)
Always look on the weird side of life…
(I mean – what have you got to lose?)
(You know, you emerge from the ineffable- you return to the ineffable.
What are you but an eternal mystery!)
Always look on the weird side of life…

2) My new column is up at SF Signal. As you can see, the word of the week for me is “ineffable.”

3) Yesterday was my 45th birthday. A very busy day at work meant that I ended up having a very quiet, restful evening. As the day approached I reflected frequently on where I am in terms of goals and pathways. I am happier about where I am than I was a year ago, and I have a long way to travel still. But with each positive development I gain a bit of strength to continue, and with each negative one I pause, assess, and then move ahead a bit more warily, which is a big difference for me. I look forward to an even better year, creatively and otherwise, ahead of me.

