Tags

,

My new column is up at SF Signal: “Uncertainty, Principal” is the first of probably several pieces on ideas gleaned from Readercon 22, I think that, like several of these essays, this is the kernel of something that I can develop and meditate upon more later. The trick is to not operationalize the idea of uncertainty, to come to the instances of it on their own terms. It may be a strategy in some writing, but systematizing it diminishes it, and I think it’s going to be a challenge to avoid that.

I am still feeling inspired a week after the event. Nealy caught up on my Clarion novella, which has gone very strange and may actually be two different novellas that require one portion to bud off and become its own creature. I am ploughing through the story and will need to do some research on farming and advanced weapon systems at some point. I am doing my best to stick to it and not get distracted by other ideas. I jotted down about 150 words of a new thing this morning but set it aside to come back to after “Waterfall” is done. One of my goals for the Write-a-thon is to stick with the story to the end, and not get distracted by other ideas, keep my presence and attention in the story at hand. It’s hard but the results are, if not great writing, at least very educational.

I also wrote a short piece for A Dribble of Ink, a response to a blog post on Michael J. Sullivan’s website about “Fantasy on Fantasy.” Go forth and read, and comment!  The idea was to respond in a way that stimulated a conversation about the idea of fantasy, as literary genre and as human intellectual capacity. We humans love to conflate terms and notions, and I like to crack them open, at least so that we can get a better look at them and think about better ways to conceptualize and discuss them. Hopefully this piece does that.

